Greg Alexander

Historic Glyndon on tour: Doorways To The Past

Mason-Dixon Arrive, May 2007

For many Mason-Dixon area residents, a rite of passage each year in May is the abundance of fascinating home tours that focus on architectural heritage, glorious home interiors and picturesque gardens in full bloom. A new entry this spring is Doorways to the Past, a home and garden tour centered on Historic Glyndon, Baltimore Countyís first historic district.

The self-guided tour on Saturday, May 12 from 11am to 5pm will include the unique and varied Victorian homes, cottages and gardens of Glyndon, founded in 1871 and designated as a national historic district in 1973. The tour will include nine private homes, three gardens, The Womanís Club of Glyndon (formerly a two-room school) and the historic Emory Grove Hotel, founded by a group of Methodists in the late 19th century. The Emory Grove campground, founded in 1871, served as a summer meeting place for Methodists. It was established close to the Western Maryland Railroad tracks and as its popularity grew, the 40-room Emory Grove Hotel was constructed in 1887.

Residential development began primarily when Dr. Charles Leas, a retired American Consul, developed his large tract of land. The convenience of the railway and the desire of Baltimore residents to have a summer retreat spurred Glyndonís growth, as the higher elevation and cooler temperatures offered relief from Baltimoreís summer heat.

Homes on the tour include diverse architectural types: a shingle-style Queen Anne Victorian, the Second Empire Hotel, 19th century Victorian dwellings, as well as a Georgian residence that long pre-dates the town. Both formal and informal gardens will proudly announce springís arrival, while oak trees, well over a 100 years old, pay homage to Glyndonís proud heritage.

DETAILS: MAY 12

Tickets may be purchased in advance for $15 at Santoniís Marketplace in Glyndon; Graulís Markets in Ruxton, Mays Chapel and Hereford; and The Hickory Stick in Westminster. Tickets may be purchased the day of the event for $20 at the two parking sites: Glyndon United Methodist Church, 4713 Butler Road; or Glyndon Volunteer Fire Department, 4812 Butler Road.

Attendees may also enjoy lunch on the wraparound porch of the historic Emory Grove Hotel by purchasing a lunch ticket for $10 in advance at the pre-event sale locations or by calling 410-833-5989.

Tour held rain or shine; interior photographs, pets and high-heeled shoes are not allowed. For more information, visit historicglyndon.org or call 410-526-0688.

^
Back to top